Veg box

As part of my garden observations, I have decided to start monitoring my veg box to see what veg we eat.  I am writing down what we get each week (kittens aren’t usually included in veg box deliveries – this one just wants to be everywhere she shouldn’t be…) and when I have enough data I will start the analysis.  What I really want to know is, what can I grow myself in the space that I have?  I’d really like to be in a position by this time next year where I am just buying root veg through the box scheme, and eventually I’d like to not get a veg box at all.

Knowing what veg we eat will also be useful so that I can work out how to replace them with perennial or self-seeding varieties of things.  Realistically, I am not going to spend a long time nurturing fragile plants (crash and burn, tomato dreams), so I’ll need to think carefully about what annuals I will grow on a regular basis, and work out my systems early.

We also get eggs and fruit juice through the veg box scheme, so it would be nice to be able to supply ourselves with those things too.  There are plans in the works, but you know, you gotta observe before you interact…

2 thoughts on “

  1. VP says:

    Love the kitten – she just wants to help 😉

    I’m having a rethink on what to grow on my plot and scarily contemplating not being self sufficient in things like potatoes and root veg in favour of the more expensive, quicker growing or perennial stuff.

  2. betheatslocal says:

    I think it’s the best way if you have a restricted space. I think of it this way – vegetables constitute something like 30% of most people’s diets (would need to check that stat), so if I am not worried about being self-sufficient in staple carbs like wheat or proteins like meat and cheese, then maybe it’s not so bad not being self-sufficient in root veg. You have to work with what you’ve got, don’t you? And at the moment I have a small back garden and an even smaller front one… I think once I have got the garden up and running, the next step is to go communal… Community orchards, sheep shares, that sort of thing. I wonder why no one has done a CSA for cereals?

Leave a Reply

