Permaculture in Technicolour!

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs recently and I have noticed that I am always drawn back to the ones with the nicest pictures.  Two in particular have been inspiring me recently – The English Can Cook and A Beautiful Mess (I stole this one from Hedvig).

I got some money for Christmas and a digital camera seemed like the right investment at this moment in time because I thought it would be extremely useful for taking pictures for articles that I write.  In fact, it already has been really useful in this way.  I’ve been snapping away for my upcoming piece on edible flowers in Home Farmer Magazine.

It also means that I can add some nice pictures to my blog posts.  When I have learned to take nice pictures that is.  Until then you’ll have to make do with this one of me squinting.  Still, I live with a photographer, how’s that for zoning!  I have come up with a cunning plan to learn photography from Ben by osmosis.  I leave my camera in the kitchen and take photos of my dinner.  Ben feels compelled to step in and  tell me how I am doing it wrong ways in which I could improve, and I learn something!

Fact fans will be dying to know what camera I got…  I bought a second-hand Canon 30D and I’m borrowing Ben’s lens until I come into enough money to buy my own (hopefully sometime around my birthday in March).  I’m also borrowing his memory card and his card reader.  So, I suppose you could say that most of the camera isn’t yet mine…  I chose second hand because as well as being a little bit more earth-friendly, it meant that I could make my meagre resources go a little bit further.  I could get a much better camera and lens for my £400 than I could if I bought new.  It’s always a bit of a gamble buying second hand, but it seems to have paid off.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

