Wood for burning and learning

My friend Mark Allery posted this poem up on his blog Woodland Antics, about the best logs for burning.  It was given to him by his mum, who did the calligraphy.  Like Mark, I’ve been thinking a lot about the best logs for burning as our new burner has been struggling with damp wood throughout the recent cold.  We got a new load of wood from a new place which seems much better, if not quite perfect.  I guess the only way to really know is to do it yourself, which is something I am most definitely considering…

What I particularly like about this poem is that I’m learning science fact, but not in a dry way.  I could go an find a chart on the calorific values of wood (in fact, at some point, I probably will) but that – frankly – will go in one ear and out the other.  I know the ways in which I learn and I respond to words and always have done.   I like the fact that it’s a poem, that it’s old and has history, that it’s full of images – ‘Elmwood burns like churchyard mould,’ – that it has a personal history to Mark, that it’s beautifully written out – that Mark’s mum did that because she thought it was important.  My new challenge is to make all learning experiences as multifaceted as this one…

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Wood for burning and learning

  1. Eve Redwater says:

    What a great way to remember the different woods by! The calligraphy is gorgeous too. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth Sica says:

    Priceless, Imust memorise it. Thank you

Leave a Reply

