Trainee teacher pathway – of interest to Permie geeks only, I would have thought…

Here’s an example of one of the first ‘pathways’ I’ve written for my diploma (not counting my ALP).  I’m mostly posting it here so I can have a reminder of what I proposed to do.  I don’t think I have quite got the hang of this strategic planning/designing malarky, so it’ll be interesting to see how my skills develop.  I’ll post my final pathway, when it’s done and possibly links to other people’s trainee teacher pathways.

Trainee Teacher Pathway for Beth Tilston

What are my strengths and weaknesses as a trainee Permaculture teacher?

My strengths as a trainee Permaculture Teacher: 

  • I have 5+ years of teaching experience including spending a year doing a PGCE
  • I convene and teach my own scythe courses and bee keeping courses
  • I have done an intro course, a PDC and I am doing my diploma
  • I am a competent generalist…

My weaknesses as a trainee Permaculture Teacher:

  • I haven’t taught anything classroom based for a long time (I’m out of practice)
  • I feel like I am still getting to grips with the design cycle and the principles – I feel I need more concrete examples of these/to have gone around the design cycle a couple of times before I’ll feel really confident about teaching it.
  • I don’t know many Permaculture specific exercises
  • I am a competent generalist…

How am I going to develop my abilities as a Permaculture Teacher?

I’ll develop my abilities as a Permaculture teacher in the following ways:

Training

  • I will do careful observation of courses and teaching styles in order to inform my teaching
  • I will discuss the ToTs course with people who attended
  • I will develop my understanding of the design cycle by continuing to work on my diploma and discuss what I am doing with friends and mentors

Development

  • I will read (and possibly buy) the Permaculture Teacher’s Guide
  • I will read Aranya’s guide to Permaculture design
  • I will develop an online compendium of examples of projects which demonstrate the Permaculture Principles – with a special focus on non-land based projects

My Diploma

Becoming a Permaculture teacher is one of my diploma projects. You can find out where I am up to with it here – https://bethspermaculturediploma.wordpress.com/category/teaching-permaculture/.  Here is how I see it fitting into my diploma:

  • Teaching Permaculture will help to embed and develop my own understanding of the principles and design cycle.
  • Teaching Permaculture will help me to develop a sustainable livelihood which is the ultimate goal of my diploma.

 Timeline

When What Notes
14th January ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme I will miss this meeting but will ask for a full run down of what happened.
20th January Meet regarding second observation  
28th and 29th January Second Observation Themed observation of the intro course.
February ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme Focus on our observations…
January/February/March Meeting with Jan and other diploma apprentices To discuss projects/strategies/how things are going
March ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme Focus on our observations…
February/March Observation of other intro course Possibly Designed Visions.
April (??) Teach session on Permaculture Principles on BPT intro course  
April (post teaching) Mentoring session with Hedvig Session to take place once I have had the chance to think over what went well and what could have been improved about the teaching I did.  Look at lesson plans and how they could be improved for the future.  Look at different ways of developing teaching.
April ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme  
May ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
June ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
July ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
August ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
3rd – 7th August Observation of Patrick Whitefield Intro course (hopefully…) Will need to contact PW about this.  Have contacted him before about another project, but not sure that he would remember me.
September ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
October ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
November Mentoring session with Hedvig A kind of ‘round up’ of the year and focuses for next year.
November ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 
December ALG meeting with section on Trainee teacher scheme

 

Teaching?

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Trainee teacher pathway – of interest to Permie geeks only, I would have thought…

  1. Deano says:

    Hi Beth
    Why the emphasis on non-Land based projects and examples? With the emphasis on localisation in your blog, would it not be beneficial to use examples of land based permaculture in your teaching, and to learn more about land based design?
    Deano

    • betheatslocal says:

      Well, there’s probably a focus on non-land based projects in my teaching because there’s a focus on non-land based projects in my diploma. This is for a couple of reasons. Firstly, my main focus at the moment is on ways of making a living, and my diploma projects focus on this – teaching scything, writing etc. They are all ‘land-associated’ but not designs for a piece of land. The second reason I don’t have many land-based designs is because I don’t have any land… Well, I do have a little bit to work with and I am doing a design for this.

      To answer your second comment, I think that for a design to be a teacher, observing other teachers is a key element. Across my whole diploma, I think I do need to look at more real life designs and principles in action. In fact, the second time I observed this course, I chose to look in detail at how real designs were used as examples, because I think that’s one of the things I find consistently disappointing about Permaculture courses – lots of theory and not enough real life examples. I’ve been thinking about putting together a compendium of real life designs/examples. I’m not sure if this is already being done by the Permaculture Association, how I would do it, if I would have the time to do it, but it’s an idea that struck me…

      I’ve done a few more designs since I wrote this post, so I am getting a better idea of the design cycle etc but I’m struggling a bit to find examples of non-land-based designs, so I do find that I am making it up quite a lot. I haven’t started doing the design for my garden yet, but I am looking forward to doing it because there is so much more supporting material, examples and ideas.

  2. Deano says:

    Looking at your timeline, your emphasis seems to be on observing other teachers.In your post you describe a need to understand the design process and principles. Do you feel that’s the best way to achieve this, or would concentrating looking at real designs and principles in action be a better method?
    Deano

Leave a Reply

